I totally stole this idea from a picture I saw on Pinterest. It was of two little girls wearing matching holiday dresses. Both the big & little sister saying "oh great matching dresses"- one clearly annoyed and one over the moon happy. Much like this Easter picture circa 1975 that my mama took of me and my big sister. (Never mind that I'm 3 months old here and almost as big as her at 5!) You see gentle reader- I've always been president of my big(nameless- she hates the limelight y'all!) sister's fan club. So heck yeah I was down with the matching dresses.

And swimsuits.

And GUESS™ overalls! (These were stripy on the backside and solid on the front!)

It's funny because at some point most folks don't want to dress like anyone else. I always wanted to wear her stuff but I'd put my spin on it. I'm a bit flashier and she's a bit more preppy but I still love her style. Errr... Our style. Wouldn't be crazy if we both showed up in the same outfit somewhere with different shoes/jewelry.

I find myself buying matching things for my boys. I think it's adorable. I know that they will develop their own sense of style but for now I get to dress them how I please.

What do you think about dressing kiddos alike my pretty people? Share your thoughts. And how cute is my sister?

Like MommyOhhhh on Facebook. I post other brilliant stuff there too. Xoxo

Dee
1/7/2014 04:20:09 am

Growing up as a non-identical twin matching clothes were the curse of my life. It was cute when the identical twins we knew dressed alike. But my sister and I just looked like dorks wearing the same clothes.

Reply
Messica
1/7/2014 05:56:08 am

My cousin & I had no siblings so every Christmas our parents made us wear matching nightgowns. Don't remember if we liked it or not but the pics are funny now. I say dress them alike while u can. There comes a point when the age gap will be too hard to find matching clothes in both sizes.

Reply
Tiffani
1/7/2014 07:44:29 am

I think it's really cute! And much like Messica, was dressed to match my cousin every Christmas ;) I don't ever remember disliking it then...I say DO IT!!

Reply
Heather
1/7/2014 08:32:55 am

Now I'm glad I got them both jake and the neverland pirates pj's!

Reply
Annette
1/7/2014 11:50:00 am

My mom is an identical twin and even at 75 yrs old and living hundreds of miles apart the buy and sometimes show up at events with identical items without each other's knowledge.
I was the only girl with 3 brothers no identical dressing for me but my two older brothers had a lot of same clothes in different colors.

Reply
Morg
10/30/2014 12:45:27 am

I never had any close siblings to do that with. My brother is 8 years older than and my younger brother is 16 days younger than I am (yea, let that sink in a bit....I had a crappy biological father) anyways...I didn't even know he existed until I was 21 so I never had the privilege of matching outfits except one time.

I went shopping with a friend (Amanda) and my mom to pick out a new Sunday outfit. My BFF went shopping with her mom that same weekend (but we didn't know the other was going shopping).

Sunday morning rolled around and my BFF's little brother looked at me and said, "'my sister is wearing the same clothes as you."

I knew he was joking because she's my BFF I know every article of clothing she owns....and vice versa. Then my BFF rounded the corner and there we were in total matching outfits (except for the shoes). It was a fun day for us...we were BFFs and this just confirmed that we were meant to be friends!!! We are still friends to this day!!! We've been friends for 19 years! We were also pregnant at the same time (once again, totally not planned) her little girl was born 6 weeks before my son! It's been great!! We lost touch every now and then, but we always pick up right where we left off like nothing ever happened. Lol

Reply



Leave a Reply.