Picture
After I wrote yesterday's post about the party- I decided to tell y'all about some questions I've been asked in the last few months.  Some were asked at the annoying party- some have been asked by friends.  

Q: What do you do all day?!?! 
A: Wow- what an all encompassing questions.  (Would you ask an accountant that?  Or a funeral director? I doubt it) I do alllllll kinds of things all day.  No two days are the same so this is a bit hard to answer.  I: play, teach, cook, clean, do laundry, referee, administer naps, run errands, pay bills, bathe 2 wiggle worms, dance, sing, , let the dog out 87 times , hug, kiss and tickle my boys.

Q: Don't you get bored?
A: Ummmm... no.  I don't have time to get bored and I love what I do.  

Q: Do you just watch soaps all day?
A: Are soaps even still on?  If our TV is on it's on a kids show.  Typically teaching them numbers, how to count, read, and not to bite friends.  {I should have bitten the person who asked me this}

Q: Is your house super clean now that you are home all day?
A: No. It's clean but only because I pick up 873 times a day.  LITTLE reminds me of the tasmanian devil. He's a ball of energy with the fastest hands in the south and likes to throw things.  BIG likes to pull things out and would prefer I don't put them away.  If it was up to them we'd have toys EVERYWHERE.  

Picture
Q: Do you miss "real" work?
A: Again- kind of a loaded question, no?  Implies what I do isn't work- right?  I mean sure I don't punch a time clock but I work reallllllllllly hard.  I'm raising the future generation of the country.  That's a lot of pressure and no small task.  A better question would probably be more along the line of "what do you miss about your old job?"  To which I have several responses.  I miss the people the most.  I worked with really great people.  Some of whom I am still in contact with- that is one of the best things about working for a company for nearly 13 years- building great friendships.  I miss the challenge of being in sales.  I miss my old boss- he was tough but always fair- and if I'm ever in a management position I will take some things from his play book. I miss the company- the perks, the travel.  There are a ton of things I miss.  But I've always wanted to stay home with my boys -especially while they are still little- so that far outweighs the things I miss.  I'm not going to lie- a new company car every 2 years was really nice.  But in my old job we didn't get to finger paint. Or wear shark bike helmets. I mean I guess I could have- but someone probably would have called HR claiming that I was a bit koo-koo. 

PictureBIG learning about bubbles.
Q: Do you feel like you contribute?
A: Wow- the nerve.  Yes I feel like I contribute.  Granted it's not money that I contribute but it's my time.  See above.  I'm teaching these boys how to be little gentlemen. 

What I just now realized after typing all of this out is that these questions come from a place of that person's insecurity.  My job never defined me.  So the person who asked me if I feel like I contribute- SHE would feel like she didn't contribute if she left or lost her job.  The person that asks what I do all day & if I get bored - she doesn't know what she would do to entertain her little people all day. It doesn't bother me that people ask questions about my new life.  I guess it's the loaded questions that bother me.  The implication that what I do now isn't as important as what I did in my previous life.  What those folks don't know is that I think I have the hardest and most rewarding job out there.  Glad I took the leap.  I'm happier.  Hot Husband is happier and my boys are happier.  Win. Win. Win. Win.  

Have you been asked any strange questions about your work? How do you respond?  Share &  like MommyOhhhh on facebook if you liked it. 

1/22/2014 05:23:54 am

Oh my gosh, you get asked the same questions I do about my photography business! I'm FOR REAL! You rock it, mommy, being a mommy is a freaking hard job!

Reply
Morgan
10/30/2014 01:56:32 am

I haven't yet...but I'm ready!! At first I wondered what people thought of me quitting my job but having been at it for about two months now... I don't care what people think. My son has told me countless times how much he loves getting to spend all day with me. Jeremy has also told me many times how much he loves getting spoiled. =) and those are the only two opinions of me that I care about. I take care of my man because he works hard and I make life easy for him at home. I'm with my son all day so inatead of crabby teachers and bratty kids. And he can learn at whatever pace he wants. It's great!!! I love not being around catty women and jerk men all day. I like not driving 45 minutes to work every day. I love having time to read this blog as Jacob plays with his Legos and saves the world!!! Staying home is the best and I'm so glad that my dream also finally came true!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.