Picture
I referred to "the list" yesterday (did you miss it?  go back and read it.  Guaranteed to make you smarter and it's free! ) as it related to co-sleeping.  Today I will tell you my stance on boys clothing.  My boys will NEVER wear tv/cartoon character clothes. (need to send plex and the gabba gang a memo about that- as well as Tiny from dinosaur train- sorry guys) My boys will NEVER wear super hero stuff. (Says the mama that has *every {good guy only- thank you very much!} super hero represented: the hulk, captain america, spiderman, superman, the flash and batman**.- you smell what I'm cookin' people?)  My boys will NEVER wear sci-fi gear.  Hellooooo R2D2 jammies.  Hello Yoda onesie.  And hello Chewbacca (autocorrect wants this to say Chewable- he would make yo @$$ chewable!) flocked t-shirt. So besides the wise age old expression "Never say never"- it's clear that I've broken item #2 on my list.  

Picture
I will not name names, but last night I was in a store that claims to ca{R}ter to boys and girls.  Ummmm...No.  That should be a whole other post.  Messica (my non-related #1 fan!) remind me about that.  Anyway a lady there was COMPLAINING that the blue stripy fox pajamas (note to self- go back and buy the blue stripy fox pajamas!) were "too boyish."  Her little girl wasn't going to like them.OMG!  Lady!  You have 75-89% of the store!  A rainbow unicorn threw up in there!  Pink!  Purple!  Aqua!  Sparkles!  Glitter!  Sequins! All of that as far as the eye can see.  Give us the masculine blue stripy fox jammies! (clearly they are super manly.  Blue.  Footed.  With a fox on the belly)  Or buy them and sew a bow on the fox's head (that's what my mama would do!) GOOD GRIEF- you have the majproty of the store.  Don't complain lady.

Picture
I have to search high and low for cute boy stuff because the choices are so limited.  Unless you want your son to look like a zoo keeper, a nascar driver (still on my never list!) a sports figure (I compromised with Jerseys if it's a college/university that we attended, the bears, the blackhawks, the white sox, chicago cubs ((hey now- I'm from a mixed family- we support both chicago teams!)) & any higher learning institution my cousins attend b/c they send cute free stuff! #annette #monica #ethan! ) a lumberjack or Ed Hardy - it's slim pickin's out there folks. {I should take this time to tell you that HH has forbidden smocking.  At all times.  Non-negotiable. He may not actually be southern} 

Picture
So while some of you may not "get" why boys clothes have: pirates, skulls, mustaches and monocles- know this- IT's ALL WE HAVE!  Your sweet girls get: french poodles, pandas holding hands, rainbows, unicorns, ballerinas, ice-skaters (Messica- remind me to write about how I wanted to be a professional ice skater) , ice cream cones, nesting dolls, KITTENS!,pink baby uggs with ribbon, ruffle butts, cheerleading outfits, butterflies, peplum tops, leggins, hello kitty, TIARAS, peacocks wearing diamond earrings (WTH?) Y'ALL HAVE EVERYTHING!  We have dinosaurs.  Maybe a slim fitting jean.  And yet I don't tell the clerk that the unicorn cap sleeved top is too girly- and can we make this more manly (#lookinatyoudavekitson!).

So while I can't really sympathize with  your frustration that you can't find a girly hulk costume- know this: super hero costumes are made for the masses.  There aren't a ton of girls that want to go down that route.  (why would they want to - you can be a MERMAID!!!!) That being said if your little girl DOES want to be the hulk- I think that is AWESOME!  Go look at pinterest and figure out how to girl that up a bit- slap on some green eyeshadow and a green tu-tu and go hulk out with your bad selves! But to expect stores to do that for you seems a bit silly to me.  They are for profit companies.  That doesn't make them sexist (yep- fox pajama lady thought it was sexist) Besides all the stuff listed above - you have pinterest!  And we have masculine stripy fox pajamas.  At least give us that.  

Picture
* Did I miss any GLC? 

Picture


**Correction- we do not have Robin because HH doesn't believe that either of our boys are merely a side-kick.  That and that he and his cousin used to get in fist fights about who HAD to be Robin- he didn't want to put big and little through that!  

11/19/2013 03:53:47 am

Chris O'Donnell was Robin.

Reply
Matie
11/19/2013 05:35:10 am

I feel like I buy Jackson the same thing over and over just a different color!

Reply
Jeff Altman
11/19/2013 10:06:03 am

Those kids are adorable and I love their mom. The only thing missing from these kids lives are St Louis Cardinal baseball t-shirts. Come on mom and dad and make these kids complete. Great Blog!

Reply
Messica
11/19/2013 11:01:17 am

Having 2 princesses & a super hero myself I have to agree--girls are WAY more fun to shop for! And more expensive.

Reply
Kim
11/19/2013 11:44:21 am

Best blog yet! Sooooo true. Gary was so glad when C was born so I would finally cut G's beautiful curls off and quit dressing him like a girl ( blue smoking is masculine.) and it bugs me how so any stores want me to pay $32 for a sweatshirt that advertises for them (stupid Gap.) but now G wears uniforms so lots less pressure!

Reply



Leave a Reply.