PictureSC Photography
Hi pretty people.  I wanted to write something about gift giving ideas for the woman in your life.  Or women.  Mothers.  Wives.  Sisters.  Aunt Gertie. Whoever.  While this post will give you local mid-south business WOMEN to support (see gentle reader, I am not a sexist as previous posts may indicate!) - these ideas are great to give anyone where ever you are.  I know I have a huge following & fan base in Germany, much like David Hasselhoff.  

First up (and one of MY FAVORITE GIFTS EVER!) A gift certificate from SC Photography- or if you don't live in the Memphis area, pick a photographer that specializes in family pictures. (I also love stories framed photography if you are in the Chicago/Milwaukee area)  I LOVE*LOVE*LOVE SC Photography.  Stace is a local mom who takes Ahhhhhh-mazing pictures.  She has such a great way with our boys and isn't super posey-posey so HH doesn't feel like we are taking prom pictures and missing the spiked punch at the after party.  Any-who, she is selling gift certificates & they're 10% off the original price! An hour session gift certificate will be $180 for new clients and $135 for returning clients. Everything can be done online.  Like her page on Facebook for all the details on how to contact her.  But - if you take my family's spot- you are in trouble missy.  or Mr.  There I am being sexist again. I have a huge male fan base too.  HH.  My dad.  Roger.  Uncle Stan.  My boys... I could go on and on...But I wont.  This is the only item on my Christmas list this year.  So hold one for me Mrs S!

Picture
This next one could be a gift for yourself or for someone else.  I LOVE Paggios salon in Memphis.  It feels like you are in a super swanky salon with a bunch of girlfriends.  The gift I'm suggesting for yourself is a mini make-over.  (Think make-up lesson where you look super pretty after) Do this on the day you have a christmas party or big date.  You will feel ultra foxy.  Ask for Courtney- she is a magician with make-up.  She will also wax your furry eyebrows.  Not that any of us have those.  {{wink}} Some of us even have werewolf faces.  (not me because I see Courtney!) Check out her page on facebook too for specials.  I saw something yesterday about a $40 Brazilian if that's your kinda thing.  Make sure you know what that is before you get it.  I had a friend once who booked one and was a bit surprised when she found out what she signed up for.  These are also gifts you can give a loved one but be careful how you give it.   {{Don't say- you are ugly/hairy you need a make-over/wax!  Baaadddd idea folks!}} Tell your lady friend- I know you've been a little overworked- stressed- whatever she's been- go take a little you time to relax and unwind.  Courtney will take care of the rest.  If you are super ambitious spring for Jennifer or Stacy to give your friend-girl a blow out.  I love a good blow out.  Hint Hint to anyone buying me a gift...

Picture
This gift is one you should buy for the good of your family.  One day I will show you the cake I made for BIG's birthday and you will say - MommyOhhhh, why did you make him a nightmare before Christmas birthday cake?  I didn't you big jerk.  I tried to hand letter a chocolate cake and it just looked super creepy.  I tried.  But now I don't have to.  I discovered a FANTASTIC and sweet resource (get it, sweet?!  I crack myself up!) Email Deatra at [email protected].  I've seen her make everything from wedding cakes to duck dynasty cakes to vera bradley cakes.  Her work is beautiful and delish. If you want to trick your in-laws and let them think you slaved over the desert you offered to bring- get your order in by 12/10.  D will plain wrap it for you too- so you can just bring it in all "yeah I made it" style.  If you are extra nice she may even give you a fake recipe to pass out to let the hoax live on.  Not that I've ever done this.  Yet.  So if you are thinking cake.  cupcakes.  cookies.  chocolate mustaches- you are my kinda person.  I knew I liked you!  If you don't live in the mid-south (sorry!) I'm sure there is another baker that can help you out.  

Picture
I love art.  I peruse etsy, the louvre- (once, it counts!) and all random things art.  I love personalized art the most.  I had an idea but since I'm not a graphic designer I couldn't make it come to life.  That is where Serah comes into the picture.  Serah is a very talented graphic designer that took my idea to concept to print.  I told her what I was thinking- she made it better - sent me a small bill- i printed it at kinkos, framed it and gifted it.  E-Z-P-Z!  She can do greeting cards, birthday invites- anything graphic that you might buy off another site- she can probably do it.  Better.  You can contact her at [email protected]

Pardon the picture quality here folks- I am no SC Photography! 

PictureSC Photography
You didn't actually think I'd post about my favorite family photographer and NOT post a picture she took of the dynamic duo- did you??  Do you even know me? 

As usual- I am not paid for any of these shout out's.  (damn- why not?  what am I doing wrong?!)  Just sharing stuff with you that I love.  But not as pricy as Oprah.  



connie york
12/5/2013 02:23:36 am

Deatra is wonderful.

Reply
Kris P O'Brien
12/5/2013 04:07:50 am

Yes she is Tina! Thanks for the comment!

Reply
Tina
12/5/2013 12:49:37 pm

That wasn't me but I totally agree. My favorite is her raspberry layer cake!!

Reply
Tina
12/5/2013 12:50:52 pm

Also love your blog.

Reply



Leave a Reply.