Picture
I learned a great lesson last week.  Hot Husband was out of town and LITTLE was sick.  Not super sick- just a little stomach bug.  I had to cancel a play-date that I was really looking forward to.  But we aren't that family that takes our kids out sick.  I won't mention names but that family drives me crazy and ALWAYS gets my boys sick.  Public service announcement time: If your kids are sick keep them home! Unless you absolutely HAVE to get them out to take them to the Dr. or to pick up medicine.  But I digress...

I talked to my girlfriend Courtney that morning- she called to check on LITTLE after I cancelled our play-date. (southern belle manners y'all!) I updated her and she said "do you need anything?" Nope.  I'm good.  But as I said that I was thinking.  Yeah I kinda need more pedialite- I may run out.  And I could use some drano (you don't want to know why.  Let's just say it involves string cheese.) But I don't want to bother her...Soooooo... "No- I'm good.  Thank you for asking."

A few hours later I received a text that she is on her way to the store and what did I need?  Wow.  I need pedialite and drano.  So this time I told her.  "Ok, be there soon." 

The difference in "do you need anything?" and "what do you need" is HUGE! I didn't want to bother or burden her- but since she insisted I gave in.  I did need stuff.  I didn't want to get the boys out.  At first I thought she was just being nice- but then I thought about it.  I never offer to do stuff like that just to be nice.  I offer to do it because I think people need the help. So I put myself in her shoes and realized while it's a nice gesture- she WANTED to help me.  That day I needed more than those two items- I didn't even realize that I needed help.  She gave it to me.  Thank You sweet friend!

Courtney!
3/13/2014 12:07:45 am

💜💗 you would do it for me!

Reply
Christy
3/13/2014 01:18:10 am

Awe this is awesome! We all need a little help from our friends!

Reply



Leave a Reply.