Picture
My attempt at hand lettering BIG's first birthday cake. I file this into "it's the thought that counts" folder
Picture
Remember how I told you yesterday that I outsource my cakes?  (You did read yesterday, didn't you?) Well, here is why.  In the picture above you can see my cake decorating skills are along the lines of a free handed drunk graphic designer brainstorming the concept of the writing in the nightmare before Christmas.  So after BIG's first birthday I realized that I needed some help.  And I wasn't too proud to ask for it. 

Picture
LITTLE's first birthday cake.
Picture
At the same time I realized I needed help, my friend Deatra started decorating cakes professionally.  It was a sign from above.  Clearly I do not have the skills to make a cake that looks presentable and she does.  So it's a no brainer.  You may remember that I suggested using her services around the holidays to trick people into thinking you made the cake.  Clearly you can see that I wouldn't be able to pull that off since there are still many living witnesses to the cake I made for BIG's first birthday. Any-who- I now have a personal cake person.  I feel like a celebrity.  You can have the celebrity treatment too if you email Deatra at [email protected].   I realize everyone isn't always thinking about cake the way LITTLE does (he asks for cake daily!) but you should get in touch with her if you have an event coming up.  I know she books up fast because her cakes are not only gorgeous and delicious but also super reasonably priced.  

And the cookies.  Dear God the cookies!  I mentioned in passing that it would be cute to get some little trolley cake pops because the boys are obsessed with the trolley (ding! ding!). Deatra said do you think you want a cake and cake pops?  Ummmm... probably not.  Then she said well, let me think of something.  And she did.  Trolley cookies.  OMG.  The pictures don't even do them justice.  They were stunning.  I almost didn't want to eat them.  But I did.  

About a week after BIG's party I saw that PBS had a link to a daniel tiger birthday party. { All  
http://www.pbs.org/parents/birthday-parties/daniel-tiger-birthday-party/food/daniel-tiger-birthday-cake/} All I can say is I think she outdid them.  

Picture
Daniel tiger cake.

You should never feel bad asking for help. Or cake. Or cake help. Hope you had a great day pretty people!

Messica
2/25/2014 09:21:48 am

Love love that blue cake--and Daniel Tiger is a sure kid hit!! What an awesome person to know.

Reply
Annette Plukarski
2/25/2014 10:11:20 am

And by all means, if you live in the south suburban Chicagoland area, please feel free to contact ME! :)

https://www.facebook.com/pieceacake.annette?ref=hl

Reply
Christy
2/25/2014 10:32:10 am

I love the blue cake too! This gave me flashbacks to years ago when I took a cake decorating class with 2 of my Martha Stewart type friends. We made a clown cake. Theirs was fit for the cover of southern living. My clowns looked sort of like the bride of chuckie but the cake sure was good!

Reply
MommyOhhhh
2/25/2014 11:20:19 am

Haaaaa!!! Please say you have pictures!

Reply



Leave a Reply.